Geen categorie

Exams (Yikes!)

Hello Reader,

IMG_20151214_165455.jpg

This week I had my exams for the 2nd block/term. 10 weeks of classes have led up to this week and I’ll be honest, I was freaking out. Due to the bad weather & Christmas break we had missed quite a few classes and I didn’t know if I would be able to pass these exams. But, I got my books out of my bag and studied like hell at the University Library (UB).

The first exam on my to do list was a Presentation about a medical article “Sugar-Sweetened Beverages and Genetic Risk of Obesity”. The presentation was 20 minutes long plus 10 minutes for questions from the examinators. So, I spent my weekend at my parents house to read the article and write down all the important things that I would need to know for the exam. Then on Monday I went to the UB and put my presentation together. 25 slides later, I was confident that I had included everything. So Tuesday came and I waited till 15:00 for my turn to present. I could here my heart beating in my ears as I stepped inside the classroom with my laptop and pile of paper. After the first few sentences I started to calm down and the presentation went great. Then came the hardest part; answering questions. At 15:30 I was done with the presentation and after a break it was time to study for the next exam.

The second exam was Statistics. During the weekend at my parents house, I had read through the 3 chapters and written a summary. Tuesday night and Wednesday morning I made the mock exam, practiced with examples from the book. I also watched Youtube videos, because Youtube can be extremely helpful if you don’t understand something. At 15:00 I walked into the classroom to make the exam, unsure of what to expect seeing as all we were allowed to use was a pen (no calculator, charts, pencil etc.). I was relieved when I was done with the exam.   I relaxed for the rest of the day. But I still had 1 exam to go.

The third and last exam that I had was Living Cell II – Biochemistry. All the students had presented one of the chapters of the book in groups of 2 or 3. This gave a basis for the structure of the chapters and even made studying easier. On Thursday I woke up early (7:15) and made my way to the UB which opens at 8:30. I will let you know that I am not a morning person, so waking up early is not something that I enjoy doing. But, I found a table to sit at with my book and started studying. I summarized the 5 chapters, went through the presentations and watch Youtube videos about metabolism, glycolysis, the citric acid cycle, the electron transport chain, and photosynthesis. After a few hours, I took a break and ate my lunch, printed some things, and filled up my water bottle. Then around 17:00 I was confident that I understood everything so it was time to walk home and eat dinner. On Friday I slept till 11 o’ clock. I rolled out of bed, ate breakfast, showered, got dressed, and made my way to my final exam. The exam went great and I was happy that I had finished all of my exams. So I celebrated by sleeping most of the weekend.

Exams can be stressful, so here are some tips to help you conquer your exams.

  1. Don’t study everything the night before! Make sure that you pay attention during lectures and study groups because they can be really helpful in understanding key concepts.
  2. Take breaks! Study for 40-50 minutes and then take a break, but don’t make your break too long, 10 minutes should be fine.
  3. Stay healthy! Don’t forget to eat, exercise, and sleep.
  4. Find a god study location! For most people this is the UB, but you might prefer studying at your desk. I sometimes go to my parents house to study. It’s warm, they have a great table with lots of light, they have food, and there are cats I can cuddle.
  5. Eliminate distractions! Turn your phone to airplane mode. If you need noise, play instrumental music (lyrics can be distracting).

Type to you later,

Dora

Leave a Reply

